Unfortunately, not everyone who becomes injured qualifies for social security and disability benefits (SSDI). Like many other government benefits, there are specific criteria that must be met first prior to being granted eligibility for these benefits.

To qualify for SSDI, you first must have worked in a profession that is covered by social security. You then must have a medical condition that is defined as a “disability” under social security laws. Not every medical condition is considered a disability, so you are going to want to consult with a social security lawyer to be sure that you are entitled to benefits.

Eligible Disabilities

For purposes of SSDI, the term “disability” is specifically defined and is based solely on your inability to work. “Disabled” under social security means that you are unable to engage in a type of work that you did before, that you are unable to adjust to some other form of work because of the disability, and that the disability lasted or is expected to last for at least 12  months or is expected to result in death.

Regardless of how severe and debilitating your disability or illness may be, if the condition does not persist for the requisite 12-month period, preventing you from performing a substantial gainful activity, you will not qualify for any benefits. This is a harsh reality that many people must face, but there are other forms or assistance such as insurance, investments, workers’ compensation and more that families can take advantage of.

Automatic Eligibility

There are certain disabilities that are considered to automatically allow for SSDI benefits, provided you match the criteria for the condition. These types of disabilities are broken down into 14 categories based on the part of the body that is affected by the disability. These categories are:

  1. Musculoskeletal system.
  2. Special senses and speech.
  3. Respiratory system.
  4. Cardiovascular system.
  5. Digestive system.
  6. Genitourinary disorders.
  7. Hematological disorders.
  8. Skin disorders.
  9. Endocrine disorders.
  10. Congenital disorders that affect multiple body systems.
  11. Neurological.
  12. Mental disorders.
  13. Malignant neoplastic diseases.
  14. Immune system disorders.

Determining whether you have a disability that falls within one of these categories can be extremely difficult. An experienced social security and disability lawyer will be able to help guide you in the right direction and make sure you can determine if you qualify.

If you or a loved one has been disabled and is unable to work or you have general questions related to SSDI benefits, contact Campbell and Associates today for a free consultation.

Image Courtesy of: Wade Insurance Agency