Whether you live in North Carolina or have come to visit the botanical gardens, go white water rafting, explore historical sites or just spend time with relatives, you should know the laws. Here, we outline 10 laws that you should be familiar with.

10 North Carolina Laws You Should Know About

  1. Driving Under the Influence (DUI). A blood alcohol concentration (BC) level of 0.08 or higher will get you arrested on drunk driving charges.
  2. Cell phone use while driving. You can talk on your phone unless you are a school bus driver or a novice driver. But, it is against the law to text while driving.
  3. Divorce laws. One of the parties must live in the state for six months before a divorce petition can be filed.texting while driving
  4. Division of marital assets. North Carolina is an equitable division state. Equitable does not mean equal but means the property will be divided in a manner the court deems fair. The parties can make their own agreement, which the court will approve if it seems equitable. Courts will honor valid prenuptial agreements that cover marital asset division.
  5. Proving fault in a personal injury case. North Carolina is one of only four states plus the District of Columbia that have a pure contributory negligence law. This means if you are involved in an accident and are determined to be even one percent at fault, you will not be able to collect for your damages. An experienced Charlotte personal injury lawyer will work to prove you were not at fault or work for a fair insurance settlement so you can receive maximum compensation for your injuries.
  6. Flat personal income tax rate. All residents pay the same rate of income tax: 5.75 percent.
  7. Gambling. There are several Indian reservations in North Carolina where gambling is legal in the casinos.
  8. Statute of limitations. If you think you have a lawsuit against someone, check with a personal injury attorney in North Carolina. The applicable statute of limitations depends on the nature of your claim.
  9. Misuse of 911. Those who call 911 when there is not a true emergency may be convicted of a Class I misdemeanor, spend 120 days in jail and have to pay a fine.
  10. Gun laws. You can openly carry a gun without a permit. You must have a permit to carry a concealed weapon. There are some exceptions and certain categories of people who are not allowed to carry any guns.

If you have any questions about these or other laws, contact us at Campbell & Associate and we will help you understand.